Looking for gluten free soy sauce brands should be in our agenda because most of the soy sauces in the market contain gluten. Soy sauce is often found in various foods like restaurant meals, packaged foods, and some others. Therefore, if we buy packaged foods that are free form gluten, but served with soy sauce, then we are not recommended to buy it because it has gluten in it. The same thing goes when we are in the restaurant, we are recommended to carry our own gluten free soy sauce.
Can We Find Gluten Free Soy Sauce Brands?
Based on the Celiac Sprue Association, there are some types of gluten free soy sauce like one that is used as salad dressing, for cooking, soy milk and soy flour. However, if we buy those soy products from company that does not dedicate their product for gluten free foods, we have to consider about cross contamination risk. The main ingredients of soy sauce, which is soy bean is gluten free, the info is released by National Digestive Disease Information Clearinghouse. However, there are some foods made of soy that are forbidden for people with celiac disease or gluten intolerance, and one of the forbidden products is soy sauce, which contains wheat. Therefore, it is highly advised for any of us to be more selective when choosing one among these products to avoid fatal mistake in the future.
And if you need soy sauce for your recipe, you don’t have to worry because there are some gluten free soy sauce brands available in the market today. Gluten free soy sauce is not made from 100% of soybeans and does not contain wheat. It is made from the combination of soy and rice. The combination is able to capture the specific taste of soy sauce which comes from fermentation process. There are some gluten free soy sauce brands available in the market and online stores.